Horizon ProvenceDiscovery of the Provence
homeVisit AvignonVisit in ProvenceAccommodation in Provence
Palais des Papes Palace of the popes

Palace of the Popes

The Palace of the popes in Avignon

Jean Froissart was a poet and a chronicler, living during the Popes of Avignon times, he described the Palace of the Popes as "the most beautiful and strongest house in the world". The monument went through the test of time, the Palace of the Popes is now the greatest gothic palace of the world.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The wealth and the glitter of the pontifical court vanished a long time ago, but the palace still stays, superb fortress raising its impressive walls to the sky, imperturbable witness of the temporal and spiritual power of the Popes in the middle age.

Clement 5 consistoire Avignon © VF  cortège du vice-légat par Claude Marie Gordot, 1774 - musée Calvet, Avignon

visite Palais des Papes - Palais Vieux Avignon © VF

From its 50 metres high tower, the Palace of the Popes crowns Avignon and its city walls, and give to the city its exceptional character. More than 650 000 visitors per year come to Avignon to visit the monument, it is one of the 10 most visited monument in France.

Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF  Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

Visit of the Palace of the popes

The visit of the palace of the Popes consists in wandering trough the lage halles and rooms of the Palais vieux, the Grand Tinel, the Consistoire, the private rooms of the pope and its magnificent fresco getting by miracle through centuries to us, in the Palais Neuf the great halls of the Grand Chapel and the Petite Audience with their ribbed vaults.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF  Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF  Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF
A
little museum, the "Musée de l'Oeuvre" explains and makes more lively in the mind of the visitor the Palace of the Popes at the times of its splendour : "the most beautiful and strongest house in the world".

From the Terrace on the tower, the view reaches Avignon, the Petit Palais and above across the Rhone river by Villeneuve and the "Kingdom of France".

You'll find more information on the official web site of the Palace of the popes (see under).

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The Old Palace

The pope Benedict Benoît XII (1334-1342) intends to settle the papacy in Avignon, he starts the construction of a great papal palace, on the site of the ancient episcopal building occupied by his predecessor John XXII. He appoints the architect Pierre Poisson, born in Mirepoix in the Ariege region where from the pope lived previously as bishop. 

Palais des Papes - Palais Vieux Avignon © VFPalais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The works start in 1335 by the erection of the donjon the "Tour du Pape" and the Chappel of Benedict XII. The old episcopal palace is destroyed and two mighty new towers raise from the ground : the Tour Campane and the Tour de Trouillas surrounding a cloister.

The architectural style is simple, pure, with no useless fantasy. The impressive walls radiate a feeling of austerity, wich was the character of the pope Benedict XII, a cistercian monk.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

This part of the palace is called the "Palais Vieux" (meaning "old palace").

During the Popes times, the Palace swarms with a rich court of cardinals, prelates, ambassadors of all european courts. The pope manages the Church affairs and he keeps up an intensive diplomatic activity. The palace is also a military fortress, which must insure the protection of the Pope, and must shelter the precious - and reputed huge - treasures of the Church, stored in the "Tour du Pape".

The New Palace

Right after succeeding Benedict XII, Clement VI decides to extend the palace. Coming from the nobility, the new pope is a munificent prince, a "Prince of the Church" prefiguring the popes of the Renaissance period. He adds a new palace to the one just built by Benedic XII, doubling thus the area of the Palace of the Popes.

Clement VI entrusts the construction to Jean de Louvres, a french architect from the region of Paris. The erection of the "Grands Dignitaires" wing enclose the vast Cour d'Honneur, a public place until now.

Palais neuf  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais neuf  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The facade is still impressive, the palace stays as a military fortress, but inside Jean de Louvres implements technics and spirit of the gothic architecture. Ogival arches give volume to decorated halles and rooms. The palace is achieved in 1363 by Innocent VI, Clement VI's successor.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais neuf  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais neuf  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The pope is surrounded with the greatest artists of his tim, the rooms are decorated with splendid fresco painted by the italian masters Simone Martini and Matteo Giovannetti of Viterbe.

Palais neuf  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais neuf  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

More refined than the previous one, the Palais neuf marks the apogee of the papacy in Avignon. It is a witness of the might and the influence of the Church during Middle-Age. It already announces in this 14th century a new artistic breath which will flourish next century in Italy.

The Palace after the popes: the period of the Legates

The final return of the pope in Roma is followed by years of crisis, the "Western Shism" period. As Urban VI seats in Roma, his rival Clement VII settle in Avignon's Palace of the Popes. Benedict XIII succeeds him, he sustains in the palace fortress a 6 months siege and five years of seclusion. Benedict XIII is finally left by his supporters but his nephiew, Pedro de Luna, still sustains a 17 monthes siege in the Palace. After those tragic events, the palace is damaged.

Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The Palace of the popes is renovated to house the legates and vice-legates who will stay there until the french Revolution. The Palace is maintained but suffers inevitably from ravages of time. Some parts are neglected, some are occupied by the Swiss Guard.

During the Revolution, the Palace is used as a prison. In its walls are perpetrated the "Glacière slaughter". It is even question to demolish the Palace, but hopefully the Napoleonic administration decide to use it as barracks. the Palace of the Popes shelters a Engeneering regiment. The soldiers save the palace from destruction but makes inside unfortunate modification.

The Palace of the popes is evacuated by military troups 1906. Begins then o,e century of renovation, under the direction of State Heritage administration. .

Works give back to the Palace the imposing and majestuous shape it had when it was built.

Massacres de la Glacière, lithographieL'Armée occupe le Palais des Papes

The Cour d'Honneur

Cour d'Honneur Festival  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The Cour d'honneur was built by the pope Clement VI, on the place of the previous "square of the Cancels". It is enclosed by the new buildings of the Palais neuf.

Theatre gave back its repute to the apalce of the Popes. The Cour d'honneur hosts every summer during july the main shows of the Avignon Festival. Exceptional exhibitions are also organized in the Palace.

Cour d'Honneur Festival  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFCour d'Honneur Festival  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFCour d'Honneur Festival  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

In september 1947, Jean Vilar invests the Cour d'honneur of the Palace of the Popes with its actors for three performances. He comes back the year after, for 20 years, the Cour d"'Honneur was the only one place for the Avignon Festival.

Cour d'Honneur Festival  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFCour d'Honneur Festival  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

The Cour d'honneur is unlikely a place for theater, closed by the high walls of the Palace, in a imposing, even austere architecture, opened to bas weather and the caprices of the wind Mistral. The Cour d'Honneur can sublimate theatre or merciless crush on too fragile shows. Here the actors of Jean Vilar's troup : Gérard Philipe, Jeanne Moreau, Maria Casarès, marked the legend of the french Theatre.

Coming to the Palace of the Popes

Internet website: www.palais-des-papes.com

GPS coordinates: 43° 57' N - 4° 48' 27'' E

texte et photos ©
visit Avignon

© VF - Horizon Provence 2018 - contact - tous droits de reproduction réservés - all rights reserved
informations données à titre indicatifs - Information is given only as an indication

Horizon ProvenceDécouvrez la Provence
 [fr] [en]

Le Palais des Papes

Visite du Palais des Papes en Avignon

La visite > Palais Vieux > Palais Neuf > Après les papes > la Cour d'honneur

Pour Jean Froissart, poète et chroniqueur contemporain des papes d'Avignon le Palais des papes est à son époque "la plus belle et la plus forte maison du monde". Le monument est heureusement parvenu jusqu'à nous après avoir traversé les épreuves du temps. Le Palais des papes d'Avignon est aujourd'hui le plus grand palais gothique du monde.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

Les richesses et l'éclat de la cour pontificale se sont évanouis avec le retour définitif des Papes à Rome. Mais le palais qu'is ont construit est resté, un palais mais aussi une superbe forteresse dressant vers le ciel d' imposantes murailles. Imperturbable, il est témoignage pétrifié de la puissance temporelle et spirituelle des souverains pontifes au moyen âge.

Du haut ses tours à 50 mètres au dessus de la ville, le Palais des papes émerge au dessus d'Avignon et ses remparts, et confère à la ville son caractère d'exception. Le monument est une attraction touristique qui accueille plus de 650 000 visiteurs par an, c'est l'un des 10 monuments les plus visités en France. Des expositions importantes sont également organisées dans le Palais.

Visite du Palais des Papes

La visite nous fait traverser les grandes salles du Palais Vieux, le Grand Tinel, le Consistoire, les appartements privés du pape et ses magnifiques fresques murales, parvenues jusqu'à nous par miracle, dans le Palais neuf les magnifiques salles de la Grande Chapelle et la Petite Audience aux voutes en croisées d'ogives.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais des Papes  Avignon © VF

Les espaces sont aménagés pour la visite et un musée, le "Musée de l'Oeuvre" est installé pour expliquer et ressusciter dans l'esprit du visiteur le Palais des Papes au temps de sa splendeur, "la plus belle et la plus grande maison du monde". Sur la terrasse au dessus de la façade, la vue porte sur Avignon, la place du Petit Palais, et plus loin vers le Rhône et Villeneuve, et le "Royaume de France".

Depuis 2017, le visiteur peut agrémenter sa visite avec un histopad, une tablette graphique qui propose de visualiser sur l'écran les salles du Palais reconstituées avec le mobilier et la décoration du 14ème siècle.

Le Palais Vieux

Le pape Benoît XII (1334-1342), troisième pape avignonais, a l'intention d'installer durablement la papauté en Avignon, il entreprend la construction d'un palais pontifical sur l'emplacement de l'ancien bâtiment épiscopal occupé par son prédecesseur Jean XXII. Il confie la direction du chantier à Pierre Poisson, un architecte originaire de Mirepoix dans l'Ariège, où le pape avait été évèque.

 
Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

Les travaux commencent en 1335 par la construction du donjon "la Tour du Pape" et la chapelle Benoît XII. On démolit et on rebâtit les différentes ailes de l'ancien palais épiscopal, et on élève deux puissantes tours - la tour Campane et la tour de Trouillas - autour d'un cloître.

Le style d'architecture est simple, épuré, sans fantaisies inutiles. Les murs imposants dégagent une impression d'austérité, dans le caractère du pape Benoît XII, un moine cistercien. On appelle cette partie du palais le "Palais Vieux".

Au temps des papes, le Palais fourmille d'une riche cour de cardinaux, de prélats, d'ambassadeurs des cours européennes. Le pape y dirige les affaires de l'Eglise et entretient une intense activité diplomatique. Mais le palais est aussi une forteresse militaire qui assure la protection du pape et abrite les précieux trésors de l'Eglise, entreposés dans la Tour du pape.

Le Palais Neuf

Succédant à Benoît XII, Clément VI décide aussitôt d'agrandir le palais. Issu de la noblesse, le nouveau pape est un prince fastueux, un "Prince de l'Eglise", préfigurant les papes de la Renaissance. Il adjoint un nouveau palais à celui de Benoît XII, doublant ainsi sa superficie initiale.

Clément VI confie la mise en oeuvre à Jean de Louvres, un architecte francilien. L'édification de l'aile des Grands Dignitaires permet de délimiter la vaste et imposante Cour d'Honneur, jusque là place publique.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais des Papes  Avignon © VF

La facade est toujours imposante, le Palais reste une forteresse militaire, mais à l'intérieur de murailles, Jean de Louvres applique les techniques et l'esprit de l'architecture gothique. Les croisées d'ogive donnent du volume aux salles ornées de sculptures ornementales. Le Palais sera achevé en 1363, sous le pontificat d'Innocent VI qui succède à Clément VI

Le Pape s'entoure des plus grands artistes de l'époque, les salles sont ornées de fresques magnifiques et luxuriantes exécutées par les maîtres italiens Simone Martini et Matteo Giovannetti de Viterbe.

Le Palais neuf, plus raffiné que le précédent, marque l'apogée de la papauté avignonnaise. Il témoigne de la puissance et du rayonnement de l'Eglise sur l'Occident Chrétien au moyen âge et il annonce déjà au 14ème siècle un nouveau souffle artistique qui s'épanouira au siècle suivant en Italie.

Le Palais après les papes : le temps des Légats et Vice-legats

Le retour définitif du pape à Rome est suivi par des années de confusion, c'est la période du "Grand Schisme". Alors que le pape Urbain VI siège à Rome, son concurrent Clément VII s'installe dans les murs du Palais des papes. Lui succède Benoît XIII qui subit dans le palais forteresse un siège de 6 mois et cinq années d'enfermement. Benoît XIII est finalement abandonné par ses partisans, mais son neveu, Pedro de Luna, reste dans le palais et résiste encore à un siège de 17 mois. Après ces malheureux évènements, le Palais est fortement endommagé.

Palais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VFPalais vieux  Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

Le Palais est rénové pour accueillir les légats et vice-légats, représentants du Pape, qui y résident jusqu'à la Révolution. Le palais est entretenu mais il subit fatalement les outrages du temps et certains remaniements dommageables. Certaines parties sont laissées à l'abandon, d'autres sont occupées par les gardes suisses.

Le palais sert de prison pendant la Révolution,. C'est dans l'enceinte du Palais Vieux qu'ont lieu les terribles "massacres de la glacière" qui ont frappé les esprits de l'époque. Il est alors question de le détruire ce témoin d'un ordre révolu. Mais heureusement l'administration napoléonnienne lui trouve une fonction de caserne, le palais abrite un régiment de génie militaire qui, s'ils sauvent le palais de la destruction, lui font subir quelques regrettables modifications.

La troupe évacue le palais en 1906, débute alors un siècle de rénovation, sous la direction des architectes de Monuments historiques. Les travaux rendent petit à petit au Palais des papes l'aspect imposant et majestueux qui était le sien à son origine.

Palais des Papes  Avignon © VF

La Cour d'honneur du Palais des Papes

La Cour d'honneur fut construite par le pape Clément VI, sur l'emplacement de la place des Cancels. Elle est délimitée par les bâtiments du nouveau Palais neuf.

Le Théâtre et les Arts aujourd'hui a rendu son lustre et sa renommée au Palais des Papes. La Cour d'honneur du Palais des papes accueille chaque été au mois de juillet les spectacles phare du Festival d'Avignon. Des expositions importantes sont également organisées dans le palais.

En 1947, Jean Vilar s'installe dans la Cour d'honneur du Palais des Papes avec ses comédiens pour trois représentations exceptionnelles. Il revient l'année suivante et pendant 20 ans ce fut le seul lieu de représentation du Festival d'Avignon.

Le lieu de représentation théâtrale est improbable, à la fois fermé par les haut murs du Palais, au coeur d'une architecture imposante voire austère, ouvert aux intempéries et au caprices du Mistral. La Cour d'Honneur peut sublimer le théâtre ou écraser les spectacles trop fragiles. Ici les performances de la troupe de Jean Vilar avec les acteurs Gérard Philipe, Jeanne Moreau, Maria Casarès, on marqué la légende du Théâtre.

Venir au Palais des Papes

Site Internet : www.palais-des-papes.com

Coordonnées GPS : 43° 57' N - 4° 48' 27'' E

texte et photos ©
visite d'Avignon

© VF webmaster Avignon - Horizon Provence 2019 - contact - tous droits de reproduction réservés - all rights reserved
informations données à titre indicatifs - Information is given only as an indication