Horizon ProvenceDiscovery of the Provence
homeVisit AvignonVisit in ProvenceAccommodation in Provence
Festival d'Avignon [fr]Avignon Festival [en]

Avignon Festival

Theatre Festival Off in Avignon

Avignon Festival > Jean Vilar's Festival > Avigon's Festival now >Avignon Festival Off

Festival Off sur la place du Palais © Jarlan

 

It is not easy to define the Festival Off in Avignon : feast, fair, supermarke of theatre, the Festival Off is all of that and still much more. During the three weeks of the 'official' Avignon Festival, theatre and stages appears spontaneously in the centre of the city. A huge number of shows are proposed to the simple spectator.

affiches Festival Off Avignon © VF

The luxuriant exuberance of shows numbers drives to a darwinian struggle for recognition : posters occupy all available space, thousands of leaflets are handed out, troups parade in the streets to attract public, keeping constant animation in the centre of the city.

To play in Avignon, no selection is made, from the amateur theatre to the most confirmed artists, every one come in Avignon to find the public recognition but also contracts with professionnal programmer coming from all over France to find shows.

Théâtre du Festival Off - Avignon - © VF Théâtre du Festival Off - Avignon - © VF Théâtre du Festival Off - Avignon - © VF

 

ins nus - Festival Off Avignon 1968

André Benedetto, today director of a permanent theatre in Avignon, the "Theatre des Carmes" was the pionneer of the Festival Off : not invited by Jean Vilar, he presents independantly his show during the Festival in 1966. In 1968, the banning of an independant piece by authorities starts the unrest. In 1971, this festival "bis" offers 38 shows in 12 stages, it is named Festival "Off" in opposition to the official Festival often called Festival "In". In 2007, the Festival Off offers more than 970 shows.

Affiche de "La Paillasse aux seins nus" - pièce de Gérard Gélas interdite en 1968 © Méran

The Avignon Festival today can not been conceived without the Festival Off. Far from being scared by the plethora and diversity of shows, public comes in numbers. Every one has his way to choose his way through jungle of shows : rumour, reading of critics, intuition, ...

Lecture assidue du programme du Off - Avignon © VFMaison du Off - Festival Off Avignon © VF

The Festival Off is a cultural experience renewed every year, always validated by the public. Its success is a proof of the Living art vitality.

Coming to Festival Off :

GPS location N 43.946565, E 4.816427

Avignon Festival OFF contact :

Official website of the Festival Off Avignon : www.avignonleoff.com

email : contact@avignonleoff.com

Tél : +33 (0)4 90 85 13 08

 

texte et photos ©
Avignon Festival

© VF - Horizon Provence 2018 - contact - tous droits de reproduction réservés - all rights reserved
informations données à titre indicatifs - Information is given only as an indication

Horizon ProvenceDécouverte de la Provence
AccueilAvignonVilles et villages de ProvenceNoël en ProvenceHébergements en Provence
Festival d'Avignon [fr]Avignon Festival [en]

Le Festival d'Avignon

le Festival Off en Avignon

le Festival d'Avignon >  Festival de Jean Vilar >  Festival d'Avignon contemporain >  Festival Off > 1947-1956 > FA 1957-1966 > FA 1967-1976 > FA 1977-1986 > FA 1987-1996 > FA 1997-2006 > FA 2007-2012 > Edmond Volponi

Festival Off sur la place du Palais © Jarlan

Comment définir le Festival Off ? Kermesse, fête, foire, supermarché du théâtre, le Festival Off est tout cela et bien plus encore. Lors du Festival d'Avignon officiel, les théâtres et scènes de spectacles fleurissent spontanément dans le centre historique de la cité des papes, dans des lieux parfois improbables. Le nombre incroyable de spectacles présentés est simplement démesuré pour un simple spectateur.

affiches Festival Off Avignon © VF

La profusion exubérante de spectacles entraîne une lutte darwinienne pour la reconnaissance  : les affiches occupent tout les supports disponibles, des dizaines de milliers de tracts sont distribués, les troupes forment paradent dans les rues pour attirer leur public entretenant en permanence l'animation dans les rues.

Pour jouer au Festival Off, aucune sélection n'est effectuée, de la compagnie d'amateurs inexpérimentée aux artistes les plus confirmés, tous convergent vers Avignon pour y chercher la reconnaissance du public mais aussi pour conclure des contrats avec des programmateurs professionnels venus de toute la France pour trouver des spectacles.

Théâtre du Festival Off - Avignon - © VF Théâtre du Festival Off - Avignon - © VF Théâtre du Festival Off - Avignon - © VF
ins nus - Festival Off Avignon 1968

André Benedetto, aujourd'hui directeur du théâtre des Carmes en Avignon, fut le pionnier du festival Off : non invité par Jean Vilar, il présente son spectacle "Napalm" en marge du Festival officiel 1966. En 1968, dans l'agitation contestataire, le préfet de police du Gard interdit les représentations de "La paillasse aux seins nus" de Gérard Gélas, évènement déclancheur des manifestations. En 1971, le festival "bis" propose 38 spectacles dans 12 lieux, le mouvement prend de l'ampleur, et on le baptise "Off" par opposition au festival officiel qualifié de "In". En 2007, plus de 970 spectacles sont présentés.

Affiche de "La Paillasse aux seins nus" - pièce de Gérard Gélas interdite en 1968 © G. Méran

Le Festival d'Avignon ne se conçoit pas aujourd'hui sans le Festival Off. Le public se presse dans les salles, loin d'être effrayé par la pléthore et la diversité des spectacles proposés. A chacun de se frayer un parcours dans la jungle des spectacles : par le bouche à oreille, à la lecture des critiques, avec une bonne dose d'intuition.

Lecture assidue du programme du Off - Avignon © VFMaison du Off - Festival Off Avignon © VF

Le Festival "Off" est une expérience culturelle toujours renouvellée, dont le public est le principal acteur. Son succès est un gage précieux de la vitalité de l'Art vivant.

Venir au Festival Off :

position GPS N 43.946565, E 4.816427

Avignon Festival OFF

site officiel du festival Off Avignon : www.avignonleoff.com

email : contact@avignonleoff.com

Tél : +33 (0)4 90 85 13 08

texte et photos ©
Festival d'Avignon

© VF - Horizon Provence 2018 - contact - tous droits de reproduction réservés - all rights reserved
informations données à titre indicatifs - Information is given only as an indication