Horizon ProvenceDiscovery of the Provence
homeVisit AvignonVisit in ProvenceAccommodation in Provence
Festival d'Avignon [fr]Avignon Festival [en]

Avignon Festival

Jean Vilar's Festival, the beginning of the Festival

Avignon Festival > Jean Vilar's Festival > Avigon's Festival now >Avignon Festival Off

Une semaine d'art en Avignon - 1947 - Maison Jean Vilar
Une semaine d'art en Avignon - 1947 - Maison Jean Vilar

 

The poet René Char and Christian Zervos inaugurate in September 1947 a "Art week in Avignon". They organize a contemporary art exhibition in the pope's Palace and they invite the director Jean Vilar to invest the Cour d'Honneur of the palace. First hesitating, Jean Vilar presents three theater pieces of which "Richard II" of Shakespeare.. The majestic and austere set transcend dramati theatre. The public, conquered wants more, he is faithful to Avignon meeting since 1947.

The Festival is a growing success during the 50's. The performances of "Le Cid" (Corneille), Richard II (Shakespeare), " The Prince of Homburg" (Heinrich von Kleist) in the Cour d'Honneur makes the Avignon Festival's legend enter in the history of french theatre.

Dépliant Festival Avignon 1951

Jean Vilar has a militant approach : he bets on desire of a young and popular public for quality theatre confined until now in traditionnal stages. He makes a demanding and popular theatre.

Jean Vilar  © photo Volponi
Jean Vilar © photo Volponi

Jean Vilar dedicates himself completely to the running of the Avignon's Festival from 1964. He invites directors of theatre, he opens the Festival to Dance and Cinema, played in new stages in the city. Jean Vilar wants to make during the Avignon Festival a place for cultural exchanges and thought, griped on society changes.

Nevertheless in 1968, just after the student revolts of May, Jean Vilar faces an impervious and radical youth.

Jean Vilar passes away in 1971 just before the opening of the 25th Avignon Festival. Paul Puaux, his assistant takes the run. He follows the direction started by Jean Vilar, he hosts in the Festival the diversity of performing arts : cinema, readings, musicals, children theatre, meetings. Paul Puaux resigns in 1979 to manage the "Maison Jean Vilar" which keeps the Festival memory. The Festival needs a second wind.

texte et photos ©
Avignon Festival

© VF - Horizon Provence 2018 - contact - tous droits de reproduction réservés - all rights reserved
informations données à titre indicatifs - Information is given only as an indication

Horizon ProvenceDécouverte de la Provence
AccueilAvignonVilles et villages de ProvenceNoël en ProvenceHébergements en Provence
Festival d'Avignon [fr]Avignon Festival [en]

Le Festival d'Avignon

le Festival d'Avignon de Jean Vilar

le Festival d'Avignon >  Festival de Jean Vilar >  Festival d'Avignon contemporain >  Festival Off > 1947-1956 > FA 1957-1966 > FA 1967-1976 > FA 1977-1986 > FA 1987-1996 > FA 1997-2006 > FA 2007-2012 > Edmond Volponi

Une semaine d'art en Avignon - 1947 - Maison Jean Vilar

Le poète René Char et Christian Zervos inaugurent une "Semaine d'Art à Avignon" au mois de septembre 1947: ils proposent une exposition d'art contemporain dans le palais des papes et ils invitent le metteur en scène Jean Vilar à investir la Cour d'Honneur du Palais des papes. D'abord hésitant, Jean Vilar présente trois pièces de théâtre en Avignon, dont "Richard II" de William Shakespeare dans la Cour d'Honneur. Le décor majestueux et austère de la cour d'Honneur transcende le théâtre dramatique. Le public enthousiaste en redemande. Il est fidèle au rendez-vous d'Avignon depuis 1947.

Le Festival connait un succès croissant pendant les années 50. Les représentations dans la Cour d'Honneur : "Le Cid" de Corneille, "Richard II" de Shakespeare ou "Le Prince de Hombourg" de Kleist entrent dans la légende d'Avignon et dans l'histoire du Théâtre en France.

Une semaine d'art en Avignon - 1947 - Maison Jean Vilar

Dépliant Festival Avignon 1951

La démarche de Jean Vilar est militante : il parie sur le désir d'un public jeune et populaire pour un théâtre de qualité jusqu'alors confiné dans les théâtres traditionnels. Il veut faire un théâtre exigeant et populaire.

Jean Vilar  © photo Volponi

Jean Vilar abandonne la direction du TNP pour se consacrer à partir de 1964 à la direction du Festival d'Avignon. Il invite des metteurs en scène de théâtre, il ouvre le Festival vers la danse et le cinéma, qui sont joués dans de nouveaux lieux de la ville. Vilar veut faire du Festival d'Avignon un moment d'échange et de reflexion en prise la société.

Pourtant en 1968, juste après les révoltes étudiantes du mois de mai, Jean Vilar affronte une jeunesse radicale et contestataire.

Jean Vilar © photo Volponi

Jean Vilar décède en 1971 juste avant l'ouverture du 25ème Festival d'Avignon. Paul Puaux son assistant et ami fidèle en prend la direction. Il suit la direction initiée par Jean Vilar et accueille au Festival les Arts vivants : cinéma, lectures, débats, créations musicales, theâtre pour enfants,rencontres. Paul Puaux démissionne en 1979 pour se consacrer à la direction de la Maison Jean Vilar. Le Festival d'Avignon cherche un second souffle.

texte et photos ©
Festival d'Avignon

© VF - Horizon Provence 2018 - contact - tous droits de reproduction réservés - all rights reserved
informations données à titre indicatifs - Information is given only as an indication